The Legend of Zelda 25th Anniversary Celebration begins!

Nintendo started off their E3 presentation with a symphony playing music from the Legend of Zelda series with a video montage playing on the big screen.
Today they decided to announce the details on just how they are going to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Legend of Zelda series.

In the first order of business, Nintendo announced that they had released The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening DX originally on the GameBoy Color, on the Nintendo eShop around the world. ($5.99 in North America). I immediately added more funds to my Wallet and downloaded the game. I have never played Link’s Awakening and ended up playing it for almost 2 hours straight!
The second announcement is that they are celebrating the anniversary by releasing the #1 game in the franchise, Ocarina of Time 3D on the Nintendo 3DS, as well as Skyward Sword on the Wii this winter. Be among the first to pick up Ocarina of Time 3D and register it on Club Nintendo, and get the official soundtrack for OoT 3D free directly from Nintendo! I will definitely be picking up the game day one. So excited for it!
The third announcement is that Nintendo is going to be celebrating Skyward Swords launch  with a special Wii Remote Plus featuring a gold color scheme and the Zelda emblem plastered on the front. Looks pretty cool, but I already have 4 Wii Remotes…but there might be room for one more if I feel up to it!
In an unexpected announcement, Nintendo said that they are going to release Zelda: Four Swords on the Nintendo DSi shop this September. But get this, it is going to be absolutely FREE! Very cool, although I wish they would just make it for 3DS and have online play. I assume we’ll be able to download it on the 3DS as well since we can download DSiWare on it already. WE NEED ONLINE CO-OP PLAY!

The final announcement is something really awesome…

Nintendo is going to hold The Legend of Zelda Symphony Concerts around the world this fall! Yes, you read that correctly. Nintendo is planning to hold concerts across North America, Europe, and Japan beginning sometime this fall. However, details are set to come later. Think of all the streetpass hits we’ll get there! This makes me think Nintendo is going to hold their own conference in a couple more months to show off more 3DS, DS, Wii, and Wii U games.

I myself am going to admit that I am not a big Zelda fan, as I own almost all of the games in the series, and have yet to finish one. However, Link’s Awakening is the first time in a very long time that I have spent playing the game significantly without losing interest. Something about retro games just makes me enjoy them a whole lot more.

About MidnightScott
I am a huge Nintendo fan, but I also own a PS3. I love video games, anime, music, movies, and the internet! The 3DS is really awesome and I'm looking forward to playing more fun and unique games in the future.

Leave a Reply

