MotD 05/16/2011: Pokémon Black & White – Village Bridge

Today I have decided to announce a new “feature” for the website called Music of the Day. Every day, we will be posting a random song from any video game ever made, with the info about it and possibly why we like the song.

Check out the info, lyrics, and my thoughts on the song below.

Game: Pokémon Black & White
Platform: Nintendo DS
Song: Village Bridge
Year: 2010
Composer: Go Ichinose
Lyrics:
ore wa ne kamome ni horeta tasogare oyaji
ore wa ne kamome ni horeta tasogare oyaji

ore wa ne kamome ni horeta tasogare oyaji
ore wa ne kamome ni horeta tasogare oyaji

aoi umi o nagamete wa naki
aoi minato wa kamome koishikute

Translation:
I…am a geezer standing in the dusk, mesmerized by the gulls.
I…am a geezer standing in the dusk, mesmerized by the gulls.

I…am a geezer standing in the dusk, mesmerized by the gulls.
I…am a geezer standing in the dusk, mesmerized by the gulls.

Gazing fixedly into the sapphire sea, I bemoan with shed tears,
as I yearn for the lovely gulls soaring above the blue harbor.

When I first heard this song last year, I was very surprised. This is the first song ever in a Pokémon video game to ever have actual lyrics. Hearing this song really makes me think about Japan (after all it has Japanese lyrics) even though the games map is based off New York City. I really enjoy this song and it’s up there as one of my top favorites of all time. It just makes me feel nostalgic or melancholic.

About MidnightScott
I am a huge Nintendo fan, but I also own a PS3. I love video games, anime, music, movies, and the internet! The 3DS is really awesome and I'm looking forward to playing more fun and unique games in the future.

Leave a Reply

